Marianjoy Library

EBM Databases

The Marianjoy Medical Library provides access to several online databases. Many of these databases are full-text and restricted to Marianjoy associates, physicians, residents, and students. User name and password may be required to access some of these databases. To see a comprehensive list of all databases, go to Databases by Title

 
What is Evidence-Based Content?
Databases

CINAHL Plus with Full-text
CINAHL provides Evidence-Based Care Sheets, which are designed to give a "general informational overview of the subject for the healthcare professional". Most are two pages long, and include information on "What We Know" and "What We Can Do," supported by a list of References for further information


DynaMed
DynaMed is a point-of-care reference tool designed to provide doctors and medical researchers with the best available evidence to support clinical decision-making. DynaMed is updated daily and monitors the content of over 500 medical journals directly and indirectly by using ten journal review services. Each publication is reviewed cover-to-cover, and each article is evaluated for clinical relevance and scientific validity using a rigorous 7-step protocol.

HSTAT

National Library of Medicine


Rehab Reference

Rehabilitation Reference Center™ (RRC) is an evidence-based clinical reference tool for use by rehabilitation clinicians at the point-of-care. RRC provides therapists and students with the best available evidence for their information needs in the areas of physical and occupational therapy, speech therapy, and more…

Cochrane Reviews (OVID)
Cochrane Reviews are systematic reviews of primary research in human health care and health policy. They investigate the effects of interventions for prevention, treatment and rehabilitation. They also assess the accuracy of a diagnostic test for a given condition in a specific patient group and setting.

 

Natural Standard
Natural Standard provides high quality, evidence-based information about complementary and alternative therapies including herbs, supplements, complementary practices, diets exercise and nutrition. This international multidisciplinary collaboration now includes contributors from more than 100 eminent academic institutions with trustworthy, up-to-date, consolidated information on effectiveness, side effects, interactions, dosing, pregnancy, breastfeeding, historic background, practitioner accreditation, theory, and safety is now at your fingertips.

UpToDate
UpToDate is an evidence-based resource authored by physicians to help healthcare practitioners make the best decisions at the point of care. Over 80 million patient-related problems are researched each year with UpToDate.

Trip Database
Trip is a clinical search engine designed to allow users to quickly and easily find and use high-quality research evidence to support their practice and/or care.

____________________________________________________________

Occupational Therapy

             University of Toronto, Canada

          University of Queensland, Australia

_______________________________________________________________

Physical Therapy

              University of Toronto, Canada 

             George Institute for International Health and University of Sydney, Australia

Need help? Ask for assistance, call us at (630) 909-7090 or e-mail the Library Staff.

 

Print Email Save to delicious Font Size A A A